Some people thinks that government should increase tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to start eating healthy. Do you agree or disagree

Recent years, certain groups claim that people could be discouraged from eating junk foods if administrations could implement heavy tax rate on this industry. I strongly disagree with this view.

On the one hand, one of the main cause that the general public eat junk foods as a habit was because the price of them are substantially lower than the healthy ones. In order to attract customers, big franchises such as McDonald and Burger King target their marketing strategies at low-end customers. They set their products price at a very low level, tempting consumers to visit their stores frequently. If authorities could implement a extra tax policy onto this business, this phenomenon can be alleviated at certain level.

On the other hand, apart from the monetary policy, there are other ways for the government to prevent their citizens from eating fast foods. An existing phenomenon in the society is that the majority of the general public citizens have no ideas how many detrimental effects these foods could bring to our body. These foods usually contain extremely high calories which could expose individuals to several disease such as diabetes and high blood pressure.To address this issue, governments should raise more campaigns within the local communities to increase people’s awareness of this problems.

In addition,for those people who have higher income level, this policy might only have limited effects. They may disregard the increased tax and continue consume junk foods anyways. For instance, in China, it was reported that 40 percentage of consumers of the fast food industry belonged to wealthy classes, and the trend had kept growing.

In conclusion, I mostly disagree with the view that adding taxation to unhealthy food will alter the public’s eating habit. Even thought it can work in certain degree, there are better ways to do it.