Some people think that the government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects to make progress. Do you agree or disagree?

Technology is the fuel behind today’s every major advancement, and science is the main power that drives the development of technology. So, there is no dispute that science is an extremely important subject, and that government should spend more money on it than other subjects is an increasingly popular opinion. However, I disagree with this sentiment.

Undoubtedly, teaching science to children is essential. Science is the study of the world around us, from a simple problem like how to calculate to a complex subject like rocket science. New discovery about our world is happening every day, so to help the youngster to keep up with the changing world, science subjects like math, chemical and physic are crucial.

However, the human brain has two sides: the left side for science and the right side for creativity. Education, like the human brain, need to be taught in both. Other than science, there are a lot of indispensable subjects like literature or art that also help to develop the world. If there was no art, the world wouldn’t have seen brilliants artists like Van Gogh or Picasso, and if there was no music, the world wouldn’t have Mozart. In this alternative universe without art, the world would be so dull.

Moreover, not every child is good at science. Each person has his old strengths and weaknesses, a child good at math is not necessarily good at drawing and vice-versa. Because of that, teaching methodology and subjects must be designed in a way that could develop both. For example, my brother is not comfortable with numbers, but he has extraordinary drawing skills. If his study was not included subjects like drawing and art, he would have never been able to discover his talent and pursuit his dream to become an artist.

In conclusion, child development should be equal for both sides: science and creativity. Thus, the government should distribute its educational fund equally. Only by doing that, we, the human race, are able to fulfill our potential and help to create a better world for everybody.