Leisure is a growing industry, but people no longer entertain themselves as much as they used to because the use of modern technology has made them less creative. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, leisure has advanced significantly with many new forms thanks to recent innovation. However, the use of modern entertainment sometimes makes people feel that they are dependent on technology thus affecting their creativity. Personally, I disagree with this point of view.

In bygone days, playing sports or watching TV were two of the most common ways to entertain. While playing sports is a healthy leisure activity, watching TV is not so much, and there is little to no creativity in this form of entertainment. In fact, people in the past had only a handful of ways to entertain themselves and not a lot of them require much imagination.

But this is not the case at the current time. With the recent development of technology and the internet, people are spoiled with choices for how they want to have fun. We have so many new forms of entertainment that it is actually hard to decide: from watching Youtube and TikTok to playing video games or surfing Facebook. At the first glance, there is also no creativity involved, but things are not that simple.

If we look at this from the other side, people, in order to have fun, are more creative. In the past, consumers of the leisure industry were strictly consumers. Today, people on Youtube, TikTok or Facebook are contents creators themselves. They are spending efforts and imaginations to create interesting stories, funny clips, bizarre posts in order to entertain their audiences, thus, in turn, entertain themselves. That requires creativity.

In conclusion, today’s entertainment is not only more in kinds but also more in creativity. So modern technology, in fact, gives more choices and it is up to people to make their choices.