Some people think governments should spend money on measures to save languages with few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often claimed that state authorities should make efforts to preserve less spoken languages whilst others argue that this phenomenon often leads to wastage of money. While focusing on global languages help economies to progress faster, I believe that governments should invest funds for saving endangered languages because they play a vital role in cultural development.

Many opposes the funding of local languages because they can never replace global languages. That is to say, with rapid globalization, people are alleviated towards global languages because it helps them to connect to myriad population with any language barrier. As a result, languages that tend to loose communicative purpose should not be subsidized in order to avoid language based misunderstanding. For example, although there are 28 regional languages in India, English and Hindi are considered as most effective languages to communicate in different organizations. However, in order to promote consumerism, it is crucial for corporation to cater services in all languages.

On the other hand, many regions reflect their culture through native language. Replacement of these would certainly have an adverse impact on the local culture. To substantiate, taking potential steps for minority languages not only help young generation to acquire historical knowledge but also help them to stay connected with their cultural roots. Eventually, promoting these linguistic capabilities is beneficial for the holistic development of children. For instance, recently the United Nations has started a new campaign ‘Our Language, Our Culture, which aimed at promoting more than 250 least spoken languages across the world. Therefore, I believe that preserving local languages is beneficial for for promoting the authentic culture.

In conclusion, although the languages in demand tend to be advantageous for economic growth, I believe that the better understanding of historical culture can only be attained through regional language and it help future generation to inculcate cultural values.