Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often claimed that single sex schools provide better learning environment for children whilst others argue that mixed schools tend to be more advantageous in learning process. While separate schools help young people to concentrate well on their studies, I believe that mixed gender schools offer great contribution in developing social skills.

On one hand, many people prefer single gender schools for their children because it is beneficial while imparting discipline among learners. That is to say, if students study with same sex, there are less chances of gender based conflicts. As a result, they get a chance to acquire potential knowledge in less distracted environment, which is beneficial for their holistic development. For example, in India, the constant high academic results of single sex institutions reflect that their aspirants tend to expand their horizon of knowledge by learning in same gender environment. However, I believe that children studying in separate schools suffer from several behavioral issues with opposite sex in later life.

On the other hand, it is asserted that boys and girls attending same school tend to be more social in comparison to others. This is because, the availability of both the genders help students to interact with one other in a more friendly manner. For instance, Dr. Sigmund Freud, the eminent psychoanalyst, in his study of ‘Human Behavior’ stated that children learning with different gender has more respect and mutual understanding towards each other. Therefore, I believe that these schools have more positive impacts on the overall social development of future generation.

In conclusion, although separate school individuals progress better in academics, the positives of interacting with boys and girls can not be undermined. I therefore, favors mixed schools because they help students to mingle with other classmates in a more comfortable manner.