Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

In the past, there were not many jobs and people had to depend on their own for livelihood. However, with the development today, everything has been changing as there is a boom in the figures of people employed at different places. This had led to people question the appropriate age of retirement, some assert that there should be a fixed age and others say it should be dependent on the occupation. However, the essay will deal with the view of having a fixed retirement age.

On the first place, every society is guided by a set of norms and is special on its own. It is not possible to amend them from perspective of range of people. Every law is made by keeping in mind the condition of the society and further, the will of the people. For instance, Most of the white collar jobs across the world have a retirement age of 65. As after a specific time it is not possible for brain to process information. Thus, the policies are made keeping in mind the scientific reasons.

On the second place, receiving financial grant from a government is a privilege that not everyone receives. Only certain forms of jobs are vested with the financial benefits even after superannuation. There are many workers engaged in the unorganized sectors which are not accounted. For example, a laborer will not receive anything from the government at any point in his life. Therefore, the concept of retirement and having a fund from government is only applicable for certain people.

In conclusion, in my opinion, the need of the hour is to bring a uniform policy to help all the old age people irrespective of the level of job one was involved with. The move will cater to the needs of the people in need.