Some people think that high salary is important when choosing a company to work for, while others think that a good working atmosphere is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Organisations the world over, owe it a duty to ensure proper remuneration, which commensurate the work-done of its employee and also provide a safe and enabling work environment. Some people consider how handsome this salary is when accepting offers of employment, while others, however, consider companies that provide a good working atmosphere more importantly. I strongly support the latter view when choosing a company to work for.

Those who make a decision to work for a company because of its high salary may argue that this would make job seekers become richer than their counterparts in the early days of their career. For instance, in Nigeria, an average fresh graduate seeks to work in an oil-producing firm like Shell incorporation, which will make such graduate a millionaire in a short while. The huge benefit of this is that such graduate becomes the bread-winner of their families and be more reckoned with in the society. As a result, working for a company with higher remuneration gives access to luxury living.

However, I would argue that the above is not sustainable, and a positive work environment is more important and dependable. This is because it does not only ensure balance work-life but also develops through training and development on the career path. For example, I chose my current company because of its flexible work time, giving me a chance to spend quality time with family. Also, rigorous training overseas has exposed me to nominations for world-class business events. If I had not been part of a positive working environment, I would not have been able to represent my country in an international business summit.

In conclusion, while choosing a high salary company might be life-changing, the decision to join the one that has a good working atmosphere is more sustainable and dependable, in my view is paramount.