Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones nowadays has unwanted effects on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A mere century ago, children used to learn and develop their skills using pen and paper. With the technological boom, the youth have started using the internet and gadgets to acquire knowledge. This has caused some part of the population to believe that computers and other hand-held devices have detrimental consequences on young adult's language learning skills. I partly disagree with this point of view.

On one hand, most young people spend a large amount of their time on smartphones and laptops. This has only affected the method they input and receive data to and from the devices. Internet and gizmos have changed writing to typing and reading have remained fairly the same. These days, the young read from electronic books instead of the physical books that they used to in the past. Moreover, e-books and dictionaries on mobile devices help youngsters with reading, pronunciation, origin of the words and other such aspects of the language. Digital equipment allows them access to numerous websites and applications to improve their language skills. Dictionary apps are particularly helpful for finding the origin and pronunciation of words. Furthermore, the size and portability of these items Thanks to their compact size permit users to read whenever and wherever they want to.

On the other hand, tablets and smartphones can be addictive in nature. Additionally, youngsters often use slangs and SMS lingo such as 'lol' with their peers. Therefore, some young people find it difficult to spell elementary words. Furthermore, most computer-based instruments contain spell checkers and auto-correct functionality enabled in them. This does not allow students to learn new words and understand where they might be going wrong.

In conclusion, modern portable devices such as cell phones have merits and demerits but it is to each individual to decide whether they want to benefit from them or allow them to destroy their language skills.