Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In the modern world, advertisements are a significant and integral tool to market a product. While some argue that marketing through various means of advertisements enables the populace to purchase items they do not require, other are of the opinion that advertisements educate the masses about new products that enhance life. I strongly agree that advertisements motivate consumers to buy unwanted things. In this essay, I will explain some of the major reasons why I subscribe to this school of thought.

Multinational corporations create meticulously crafted commercials to entice consumers to buy their products. Furthermore, companies tend to propagate the brighter side of products they are trying to promote, thus providing an inaccurate perception of the product. For instance, health magazines often publish data suggesting the use of herbal products for weight loss. This has resulted in an exponential increase in the sales of herbal goods. However, health experts are of the opinion that weight can only be controlled through proper diet and exercise.

Additionally, children are easily attracted by the vigorous advertisement campaigns that are promoted across a plethora of marketing channels such as TV, billboards and websites. This is done as a means to amass consumer attention and make them purchase goods. Moreover, mass marketing is known to create materialistic customers which in turn lead to more unnecessary purchases. For example, several fast food chains try to lure children with toys and playrooms in order to sell kid’s meal.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that advertising lures people to buy unwanted items. Thus, a thorough research before buying any item is strongly recommended.