Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The ownership of private vehicles continues to increase, and this is contributing to the decay of the air quality in many cities. While the global promoting of a day without the use of cars is considered a good solution, I believe that there are better ways to address this problem.

On the one hand, it is clear that the excessive number of vehicles circulating every day accounts for a significant amount of carbon emissions. International campaigns for car-free days contribute to the decrease of pollutants levels emitted into the atmosphere, thus improving the air quality in congested cities. For example, in Buenos Aires the regular promotion of no-car days has been identified as a critical reason for the significant improvement on the decrease of air contamination, especially in neighbourhoods located next to busy roads. Moreover, these events are likely to raise people’s awareness of the issue, increasing the search for alternative options of transportation, even on ordinary days.

On the other hand, there are other effective measures to tackle the problem. One feasible way is to increase the cost of fuel by applying more taxes. Concerned about the significant financial impact provoked, many drivers are expected to reduce the use of vehicles, mainly when considering short distances. Therefore, a considerable reduction of cars on the road is achieved every day, bringing about benefits to the atmosphere. Another solution is to increase the implementation of mandatory road space rationing in cities. For instance, London has already adopted the mandatory driving restriction during weekdays, and since then, the levels of pollutants in urban areas have considerably reduced.

In conclusion, the promotion of free-car days shows good results in tackling the problem of air quality. However, I believe that imposing restrictions on daily driving and increasing the prices of fossil fuels are alternative ways that generate considerably more improvements.