Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The internet is one of the most astounding human inventions. It gives people the privilege of contacting whoever they want at the touch of their fingers and enables them to receive a response within seconds.

The pros and cons of the internet have long been debated about. Whether it is an invention that helps or scars relationships. On one hand, it does bring people closer together. An example of this would be children, parents, or partners living in different countries or locations that are not easily accessible by a short commute or drive; who instead of the traditional writing or phone call, are now able to communicate through video calls and keep their relationships alive. Distance, which originally has driven people, especially families, apart has now become a minute obstacle for long distance relationships.

However, on the other side, despite the close physical proximity, they are driven apart by the internet - more specifically, by social media. Social media is a platform genre that utilizes the internet, which enables people to update large groups of people with minimal effort. Along with this also came the digital forms of affirmation called “likes” and “reacts”, which people can give to one’s social media update. This has created a need for our generation of young adults and adolescents to allocate most or their time to cater to their social media communities in order for them to gain “likes” and positive “reacts” instead of nurturing real life relationships with their family and friends. Although some people are able to balance their real life relationships and their virtual ones, nowadays, a lot of people are not. In extreme cases, people just cater to their virtual relationship and this has driven them to isolation.

In my opinion, I believe that the internet is such a wonderful tool. It has enabled us to perform several different tasks that originally we thought would be impossible. I believe that it’s just a matter of proper education, not just for the youth, but for each and everyone. That the internet has so much to offer, that too much of anything won’t do anyone any good, which is why we have to learn how to balance its use.