Some people think that more money should be spent on protecting endangered species while others think it is a waste of valuable money.

What is your opinion?

Money spent on the preservation of wildlife is not wasteful. Each and every living being is connected and a part of a bigger ecosystem wherein the disappearance of one has an adverse effect on the other whether it be a predator, a prey, or a food source.

It has been a very old sport for people to hunt down animals and it has gotten to a point where animals have been hunted down to extinction. This is not only true for animals, but also for plants and other organisms. One example of this would be deforestation, whether it be for mining or for real estate. This has a huge effect on the animals that consider this area as their habitat, more often than not they are driven out of their homes and further into the forest, but sometimes they are driven closer to human civilization.

There has actually been studies that the crossing of paths of different species is one of the number one causes of fairly new illnesses such as the american swine flu and the most popular one, COVID-19. This is due to the cross contamination of the waste byproducts of species that are not meant to be living with or near each other.

It may seem like nothing now, but the extinction of one species will eventually result in a loss of food source for other species including us. The loss of a portion of an ecosystem will destroy its balance and will create an unprecedented chain of events that will affect us all that is why it makes sense that we should use all of our resources, our money, to protect our environment; which, a huge chunk of it are all the living species that walk the earth.