In many developing countries, there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this?

The declining quality of air and water is quite a big issue for developing countries and one of the major contributors to this are the industry and construction.

For developing countries, such as the Philippines, their major priority is to provide for their citizens on a very tight budget. They aim to utilize their resources for projects that benefit a larger group of people and since the budget is so small for the population, they tend to prioritize the people over the environment, without a single thought about the health of mother earth and how it will affect the health and overall wellbeing of their residents.

What they can do about this is assess the overall quality of the air and water in their country. Afterwhich, they should publish a study about the negative effects of the poor quality of air they breathe and water they drink on their health, not just to create awareness but to create a cause for concern. If there’s one thing I’ve learned living in a developing country, it is that the majority of its people do not care about the environment unless whatever is happening to it directly affects them and their families. After creating a bit of a stir, they can now enact laws to make the industry and construction more accountable for the waste that they emit into the air and water. They must also impose stricter sanctions for non-compliance and implement these without bias to all businesses, whether it is a small company or a multinational corporation.