Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they play well. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Can the behavior of the public figures affect the lifestyle of impressionable children? As a matter of fact, more often than not, it is suggested by many a man that sportspersons have the right to show poor manners in society, owing to their performance in the game and the success which is followed. I completely disagree with the idea because athletes are considered to be the role model of the young generation and while seeing their role model acting rude to the society will encourage them to behave in a similar manner.

Arguably, the superstar athletes are not expected to be on their best behavior for no reason. In the contemporary era, since the children try to imitate their favorite sports player and tend to replicate their manners and attitude, the players must act responsibly so that the adolescents learn their sportsmen’s spirit rather than their bad habits. For instance, in a painstaking research by Harvard University, it was revealed that, despite the best efforts done by cricket players trying to control their anger on the field, 4 out of 10 children started showing their rage in their peer group.

Notwithstanding the darker side, the opponents opine that the conduct shown by the players on the field not only tries to become intimidating, but also gives them the courage to believe that they are superior from the other team. Although it is not entirely untrue however, the nature of the player affects the gullible minds of the children. For example, no sooner did the Ministry of India performed a survey on the reasons for the rise in delinquency in children, than it was unfolded that the unprofessional behavior of the athletes was at the top of the list.

To conclude, but for any doubt, players being the role model of the younger generation must control their emotions at all times. However, if the anger is channelized by the sports player in their performance, it would lead to a socially stable and morally prosperous society; lest good outcomes should be far out of reach.