Due to television and the internet it is easier today for a large number of people to become famous. Is it a positive or a negative development?

Is it easier to become a celebrity in the contemporary era due to media? Apparently, more often than not it is observed by many a man that the social media influencers have taken a rise in the past few years, owing to the worldwide usage of the internet as well as television. To my mind it is a welcome change because a myriad of masses have found their passion in life and have started earning at an early age, making them self-dependent.

Arguably, technology is not considered to have changed our way to communicate and socialize for no reason. With the emergence of social media platforms, people around the world are not only able to show their art and talent but also, they have been able to convert it into a business by doing advertisements for the companies. A painstaking research has had been undertaken by Facebook, a leading social media brand, which revealed that 19% of the world population was able to land a job in the media such as news channels, reality shows as soon as they got recognized on the social media platform which made them popular worldwide.

Notwithstanding the brighter side, the trend certainly has its drawbacks, given the current state of the internet, fake information is getting viral creating fear in the mind of the citizens and encouraging violence. Moreover, teenagers have fallen prey to the bad influence of the graphic contents over the media leading to an increase in the rate of delinquency between them. Although it is not entirely untrue, the real impact is not that severe as has been assumed. For example, no sooner did a survey conducted by the Harvard University on the leading social media application Whatsapp, than it was revealed that 58% of fake facts and figures were spread around the world, which in turn created a turmoil among the citizens.

To conclude, but for any doubts, the internet has created sensational outcomes by providing a platform for the underrated parts of the world. Therefore, if the trend continues it would lead to a socially stable and professionally enriching lives; lest good outcomes should be far out of reach.