Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

Can migrating to urban areas from the countryside increase the possibility of nationwide growth in the country? Apparently, more often than not it is observed by many a man that people from the villages prefer to move to a developing city in search of a better lifestyle and education. To my mind, it is doing more good than harm because an educated individual acts as the backbone of the economy in a country.

Arguably, people get attracted to the lucrative lifestyle of the cities for no reason. While talented individual fails to land a job according to their caliber in the rural areas, there is no shortage of opportunities in big cities. Given the current state of the economy, developing cities are able to provide employment in the different sectors of the industries because of the establishment of new companies. A painstaking research has had been undertaken by the Forbes Magazine, which revealed that there are 70% chances of an individual to find a job according to his ability rather than those who are living in an underdeveloped area of the country.

Notwithstanding the brighter side, the trend certainly has its drawbacks. As the majority of workers shift for a better lifestyle to a city, so the growth of the village is thrown for a toss because of the decrease in manpower. Moreover, due to a rise in population of the migrant workers leads to traffic jams and puts pressure on the infrastructure of the city. Although it is not entirely untrue, the real impact is not that severe than assumed. For example, no sooner did a survey conducted by the Indian Ministry of Public health during COVID-19 pandemic, than it was unfolded that due to the overpopulation in the cities like Delhi the burden to treat the patients of the virus was uncontrollable by the hospitals, due to which over 1000 individuals were unable to get basic first aid arising out of non-vital injuries leading to their deaths.

To conclude, but for any doubts, settling to a developed city from a village can assist an individual to improve their overall skills. However, if a balanced development is done by the government by providing better opportunities at the grass-root level in the villages, it would lead to a socially stable and professionally enriching lives; lest good outcomes should be far out of reach.