Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Can levying tax on junk food would make people start living a healthy life? Dwelling deep into thought, many a man more often than not believe that imposing a tax on the unhealthy food will inspire the citizen to stay fit. I completely disagree with the notion because it is an inefficient way to suppress the desires of the individuals towards their food habits.

Arguably, a myriad of masses in the metropolitan cities do not resort to east fast food for no reason. While in the developed cities owing to the fast pacing lifestyle, people are unable to cook for themselves and have to depend on the outside food due to this. Hence, if the government imposes a tax on junk food it would not only make the food unaffordable to the individuals but also, create hindrance in their professional growth as they have to cut back on their working hours. A painstaking research has had been undertaken by the food delivery application Zomato, which revealed that 58% of the population in the city of Delhi rely on food delivery as they do not have time to cook food for themselves.

That being said, since the increase in tax the fast-food will become unaffordable for the poor people, which in turn will promote starvation in the country. So, if the government rather than increasing taxes, must layout policies for promoting a healthier lifestyle in the country. For instance, no sooner did a survey conducted by the Harvard University on the health guidelines of providing rebates for opening a gym in the country on Australia, than it was revealed that 34% of the population lost fat and became fit.

To conclude, it can be asserted that junk food has become a part of the daily routine for the individual and for the economy. Therefore, as long as the government introduces alternative ways to promote a healthy lifestyle in the country, there will be no need for an increase in taxes on fast food which would lead to a socially stable and healthy society; lest goof outcomes should be far out of reach.