Some people think the most important thing about being rich is that it gives
person an opportunity to help other people. To what extent do you agree
or disagree?
Many people think that rich people have the responsibility to help out those that are
underprivileged. However, I think that help should not only be in monetary terms.
Firstly, people who are more fortunate in their lives should give back to the community .
However, rich people should not help out the poor by providing them with money. This is
because the money given to the poor can be seen as being given “out of pity”, thus
straining the relationship between the different social classes. Secondly, giving out money
will not be sufficient to help the poor escape poverty. The constant source of financial
assistance will only make the poor rely on the rich to survive without generating their own
incomes.
Secondly, I agree that rich people can give out to the community in terms of providing
opportunities for the poor to overcome their obstacles. Poverty often stems from a lack of
formal education and/or preparations for career paths. Formal education can help the
underprivileged acquire official certifications needed for job-seeking. Also, attending
vocational schools allows the poor to learn necessary skills required to get a job. This is
why the rich can help in the sense of funding for the poor's formal or vocational
education.
In conclusion, I think that people who are more fortunate in their lives should take care of
the unfortunate. However, help should be given not in monetary terms, but rather in
providing them the opportunities to work and earn their own money.