Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skill more when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree?

There is a controversial issue about the effects team work causes on individuals. Some managers state that it can boosts thinking abilities. In this essay, I agree with their point of view.

Let us start with the reasons why some supervisors claim that team involvement boosts the potential of mind. The first justification is that people in groups tend to exchange thoughts. Working in groups usually involves communication between members, which helps them easier overcome any challenges than they would do alone. Another cause is that in groups people normally develop social skills. Inexperienced persons, such as graduates, generally learn quickly how to address people of different ages, because they need to interact with others in the company, if they want to succeed in life. Furthermore, in groups youngsters also may find the answer to disturbing questions. There are many questions, that young people are struggling at, since their relatives can resolve, but with the help of other people, they can eventually handle them.

However, some teachers argue that team work has no positive impact on cognitive abilities. They justify their viewpoint with the following arguments. Firstly, people in groups tend to concentrate solely on few features in the project. Company personnel, for example, cannot replace each other, because they are unaware what their colleagues are working on, but people, who mostly work on their own, can do it, since they have a broader horizon. Secondly, study in groups may hinder mental development. Talented students, for instance, often suffer from constant delays, if they get education in class, so, to learn more effectively, they mainly study individually with teachers. Moreover, introvert people feel uncomfortable in groups. Many people cannot focus on education due to their psychological features, if they are surrounded by other people, so they show best results in isolation.

In conclusion, even though some tutors believe that team involvement causes problems to some people, I think that, in most cases, it stimulates thinking skills.