Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities. Others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities study together.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been different views about schools’ approach to choosing pupils. Whilst some people consider selecting students with similar academic level as the best method, other believe a mixed class with multicolored attendants would lead to better results. Although there are valid reasons for both group’s statements, I would lead towards the latter.

From some people standpoint, some children are gifted, requiring to be identified and receive better services. Pupils with striking abilities in math or memorizing formulas, for instance, are far ahead from their peers, having the potential of learning more easily and with a higher pace. If these students are selected by schools, they will face more opportunities to enjoy the privilege of attending exceptional classes fitting them well. So it is better to prioritize them.

On the other hand, at the other end of the spectrum, there are people who believe all students, by and large, have their own specific talents which is required to not undermine. As a result, selecting some students and left others as normal and ordinary ones would exert a negative influence over their self-confident. Classes with a wide variety type of students, moreover, revolutionize children’s understanding of the society. Cooperation and studying with peers from different backgrounds benefit students from evaluating matters from different perspective and being more flexible and open-mindedness. So it can be said that in this case they will integrate better with their society.

By way of conclusion, schools, in my opinion, are warranted to choose students regardless of their academic level. This approach would result in more cooperation and understanding of different aspects of society.