Some people think that studying from the past teaches us nothing about
today’s life. Others argue that the history is a valued source of information.
Discuss both views and give your opinion.
There have been different arguments over the possible impacts of history on the
modern society. While many people believe that information from the past has no
effect on today's generation, I would argue that it is reasonable to consider history
as a vital source of knowledge in the progression of the humanity.
On the one hand, it is thought that studying history is fruitless as it is merely a set
of past events. Firstly, in the ever-changing world, human activities now happen in
an entirely different manner compared to the past. Therefore, historical data and
experiences appear to play no role in decision making or predicting the future.
Secondly, there is no firm evidence for the accuracy of the historical information
due to people's biased judgments and lack of a data storage system. If some
information about the historical events were wrong, people would have an
incorrect understanding of the past society and culture.
On the other hand, I would side with those who think that history provides people
with an insight into their surroundings. In fact, history is an ongoing process in
which people are approaching a better world. For that reason, valuable
knowledge from history could enable individuals to be aware of their
unlimited potentials, resulting in more efforts to be made for the sustainable
development of human civilization. Besides, learning from the past could help
people to avoid making regretful mistakes. For example, if the US military had
thoroughly studied Vietnam's history of defending against foreign invasions,
they would have called off the Vietnam War, which took the lives of millions of
innocent people.
In conclusion, to some extent, although some arguments arise when gaining
knowledge about history is likely to bring no value to the society, it seems to me
that its ultimate benefits are significant.