Some people think that teenagers who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adult criminals To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is a fact of concern that criminal activities by adult or adolescents are increasing at an alarming rate day-by-day. But there is a confliction in people about there punishment will be the same or different based on their age. In the following discussion, I am going to describe my own perception.

Although the law should be equal for everyone, we also keep some matter which forces someone to commit a crime, especially into adolescents. For example, some drug dealers used children as media for dealing drug. They were actually unconscious about their work because of their lack of knowledge about the bad effect of drugs. In Zimbabwe, many children associated with taking and selling drugs, many of them didn't know the bad effect of inhaling drugs or it's a crime for which they could be punished. Apart from, being highly dependent on drugs, sometimes their leader encouraged them to do robbery, theft and sometimes murder. It means an improper environment sometimes advocates adolescents to do such law-breaking activities.

In addition, poverty also plays a significant role in this kind of activity. As they were from a destitute family, they didn't get a proper education and easily persuaded by someone for money. Most of the teenager commit such criminal activities for food, clothes or similar kinds of stuff. Sometimes their parents force them to work because of their awful condition. That's why lawbreakers hire children with a small amount of money in spite of having knowledge about the result.

It is true that everyone should be punished for their offense. But, it needs to be varied in terms of the above circumstances. I believe that the punishment of a crime is not only executed based on what they did but also who and why they did. So, adult or adolescent should be punished according to their age.