Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However,other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by many that containing wild animals in a controlled environment for the public display must be shut down, as animals get brutal treatment in such places, whereas those of the opposing view holds the argument that these places are of great help in protecting endangered species. This essay agrees that the wildlife must be protected by other means rather than being caged in the unnatural habitat.

On the one side, an increasing number of species are being added to the extinction list continuously. Whereas, the zoo serves as a platform to ensure the continuity of such animal’s breed in a very controlled way, by providing all the necessary arrangements. These places are multipurpose, one is that the animals are being saved from the poachers and the detrimental effects of climate change and habitat destruction by the urbanization. In addition to that, they provide entertainment to young visitors for fun and adults for research purposes. For example, undoubtedly, all the children love to see and interact with animals in their childhood and this can only happen with the presence of zoos.

On the other side, the claim and concern of the people who argue that these places mistreat animals and must be closed shall be addressed with seriousness. All living beings have the requirement of a certain suitable environment to live and prosper. It is of extreme importance to understand that caging any living being is unjustifiable and it does not match with the natural way of living. If they must be preserved, there should be other ways such as wildlife parks, where they can roam around freely without any compulsion. This freedom is not being provided by most of the controlled facilities presently. For instance, a study published in 2018 in Dawn news showed that 80% of the local zoos in Pakistan serve less food than the actual requirement of the contained wildlife and that resulted in deaths of 10% of the population in the last five years.

In conclusion, although, many support the idea that controlled facilities benefit wildlife by avoiding them from extinction, however, to match the natural habitat need and to avoid any mistreatment of these poor creatures’ other options must be considered such as dedicating an open area free from external compulsion.