Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people advocate that ex-prisoners can amend themselves to become normal, productive members of society. Personally, I agree with the idea of this statement that allowing such people to share their experiences is the best way to discourage teenagers from breaking laws.

There are certainly some reasons why having someone who speaks from their experience is the best method. First and foremost, more obviously, teenagers are more likely to accept advice from people who have been through a lot in life. Reformed offenders can tell youngsters about how they involved in crimes, the dangers of a criminal lifestyle and what life in prison is really like. In this way, they can dispel the criminal mind of adolescents in which will greatly reduce the level of crime in the future and create safety environment for inhabitants.

However, the alternatives of using reformed criminals to educate teenagers about the dangers of committing crimes would much less effective. First of all, the option would be for police officers to visit schools and talk to young students.This could be useful information for young students regarding the regulation of laws, but students, more often than not, are unwilling to take advice from the figure of authority. Secondly, the other alternative would be for teachers to spread the consequences of committing crimes. Informative and credible as school teachers are, they are not likely to convince students as they have no experience in that field but theories in which not what students want.

In conclusion, although there are two distinctive spectrums to both approaches, I strongly agree that ex-offenders who have become good members of society after serving a prison sentence could help to deter adolescents from committing crimes.