Some think that it is more important for children to engage in outdoor activities instead of playing videogames.

To what extent to you agree or disagree?

There has been a growing concern among the parents, regarding their children spending considerate amount of time in front of computers or smartphones and not going out to play.

The technological advancement in the field on computer has made it more affordable thereby more accessible to the general public. This has led to development of E-games, also known as electronic games. The organizers of e games hold massive events, inviting players from all over the globe. You dont need to be of a particular height, weight, body etc to play these games. In other words, these games aren't physically demanding, thereby more appealing to the children who are left behind in physical sports. These games are mentally challenging though. It encourages critical thinking and analytical ability, just like chess or backgammon. This has given new identity to children who aren't physically endowed but are mentally fit.

Critics of videogames point towards the fact that children who were exposed to videogames at an early age are likely to suffer from myopia. And it can't be ignored that the number of cases of myopia i.e. near-sightedness are on a whole new level compared to the last decade. Physical activity is not limited to games. It includes yoga, jogging, exercise etc. These activities not only adhere to physical fitness (as the name suggests) but also contributes to mental health. Besides this, once a kid gets glasses, thers no way out of that.

I would like to conclude that Children should be encouraged to take up any physical activity, be it games or yoga or exercise. Some videogames are even good for mental health. But exposing the same for an elongated period of time is harmful to the children. Since childhood is the base of adulthood, it has to be nurtured properly. There should be a proper balance between both.