Some think most crimes are the result of circumstances e.g. poverty and other social problems.

Others believe that most crime is caused by people who are bad by nature.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that the majority of crimes are due to factors prevalent in society, while other would say that it is the bad nature of people which leads them to committing different offences. This essay will discuss both views, followed by a reasoned conclusion that most crimes are due to external factors which influence people.

On the one hand, some say that most people who are innately bad are involved in criminal activities. This is because their bad nature pleases them when they do any crime, like hurting others. For them, doing crimes is just a matter of enjoyment. For example, a recent documentary by the Australia 60 Minutes showed an interview of a culprit who was involved in sexual assault of teenagers, and he informed how amazing he felt when he did this crime. However, I believe that this happens rarely, because there are some external factors that are likely to influence people to committing crimes.

On the other hand, some argue that most crimes are due to social problems. Being human beings, we have to live in a society where we are likely to get influence of many things. The majority of people take these so deeply that they do not see any option other than doing crimes. For example, a recent report by the Jhang Police has shown that almost 60% of criminals who were in prison conducted robbery because they did not have enough money to survive. I agree that the main reason of crimes is due to such factors which are linked to society they live in.

In conclusion, although having a bad nature can result in crimes, I believe that getting influenced by societal issues is the main reason due to which most people become criminals