Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problem does this cause? What can be done to solve the problem?

For every society to function properly, every member has to play his part. There is a popular maxim in my tribe that alludes to this. It says the hand of the child cannot reach the top of the ceiling, while that of the adult will not fit in the mouth of a calabash. It goes to emphasize how vital it is for different age groups to exist in any given society.

The norm in this age is that young people increasingly emigrate from their local communities in the countryside to big cities and towns that are faster paced, more technologically advanced and hold more career opportunities. One cannot fault them for desiring a better life, however, a pebble dropped in the ocean will still form ripples.

Leaving an elderly population behind will ensure that the slow pace that encourages young people to emigrate out of frustration and boredom remains. It prevents the much needed interaction between the elders and the youths that helps improve the wisdom of the average young person. The bulk of experience rests with the elderly population but if they have experience and wisdom but no manpower to execute plans, they might as well have nothing. Investing in industry and other measures that might attract the young population and keep them in their local communities would go a long way

Security is a vital issue both in the local community as well as in the city. The elderly population is vulnerable and left to fend for themselves. The incidence of physical and emotional harm is higher because they are prone to attack, injury from age and a feeling of loneliness once they are alone for too long. In the cities, young people are typically the perpetuators of crime. While many arrive cities in search of a better life, more than a few end up in dubious activity.

The youth population doubles as the working population that contributes to the GDP of any region. The youth are the powerhouse and life of any economy. Emigration of young people from a place eventually leads to reduced productivity of that region because the rest of the population- the elderly, rely on social services, paid for with the taxes that they do not contribute to. Having a predominantly elderly population implies that that community will take a lot more from the government than it is capable of giving.

Immigration is an inevitable complication of emigration. If indigenes leave their own communities, they create a gap in the population that will eventually be filled by foreigners. This may lead to differences in service delivery, racial bias in some instances, language barriers and culture shock.

The solution to the problems caused by emigration of youths from rural communities lies in the provision of amenities, technology, facilities, incentives and opportunities in these rural communities. If more emphasis were placed on developing rural communities too, the desire to leave a rural community would solely be borne out of a desire for a new environment and not out of desperation or a need for exposure to opportunities.

The need for both youths and elders in any population cannot be overemphasized. Both populations have their individual strengths and weaknesses, but together form the backbone of any strong community.