An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, a growing number of people are paying for good and services online. However, there are both pros and cons of doing this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why online transactions are so popular and some of the challenges it faces.

Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of online transaction. One of the main positives of online transaction is convenience. Paying for good and services online can be done from the comfort of one’s bed, in a pyjamas and at an odd hour of the day such as 1:00am in the morning. For instance, I can decide to purchase a smartphone on the Samsung website. All I need to do is visit the website, click on the phone of choice and pay with my credit card.

Another advantage of online transaction is the absence of crowds. Unlike the traditional system, you do not have to deal with the problems that crowds present such as the need to wait your turn, or guard your valuables from theft. Furthermore if you are claustrophobic, then online shopping is a good alternative to the traditional system.

On the other hand, a challenge one faces with online transactions is the risk of fraud. It is possible to have your hard-earned money stolen by hackers if you enter your credit card details on e-commerce websites that are not secure. In other words, website not built to standard. Also, you can end up getting counterfeit products which are unlike the products advertised on their websites. For example, getting a rubber shoe when what was displayed and advertised was leather.

Another issue is that online shopping has a negative environmental impact. When one orders online, the goods are put in a number of packages made up of plastics, nylons and cardboards and then, they are brought by courier to one’s doorstep. While it is convenient, one is creating unnecessary waste by shopping online.

To conclude, there are both positives and negatives to shopping online. Despite the fact that it is convenient and it lacks the assembly seen in shops and malls, there is the risk of fraud and its negative footprint on the environment. Personally, I believe it is important to bear that in mind when shopping online.