Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in countryside? What problems does this cause? What can be done to solve this problem?

People especially youngsters are moving toward cities and towns, leaving their countryside searching for their future and jobs, to continue or begin their lives. Leaving countryside will cause several problems, but we can find solutions to stop this migration toward cities.

Young people are leaving the countryside searching for jobs, without knowing what problems they might cause. Social life will change and stop, young blood will disappear, and streets will turn as a ghost place, empty and sad. Some studies showed that this migration will impact on the economy, shops and small businesses will close, people can’t make enough money to satisfy their needs. However, increase in rate of ages, will effect on development and improvement of the countryside. For example, the Ministry of Economy in Lebanon, after deep studies showed that the number of young people moving to cities exceed the 40% and causing a serious issue in the balance of economic growth.

On the other hand, solutions must be provided by the governments and local people. The governments should work on building new roads infrastructure, to facilitate the transportation and connection between the cities and country sides. People should invest in their lands, move firms and companies toward the country, which will open the opportunity of new jobs and ideas for the area. Moreover, the governments with the assistant of local people, needs to improve the sector of tourist, to attract people to visit these, where it revitalize tourist traffic and economy. For example, at my region, the council with the help of the local people, both worked to bring investments to our country side, which encouraged us to stay and work here, to improve and grow our place.

Finally, leaving the countryside is causing several problems, but several solutions can be found, and solve this issue for a better way of living. That’s why, people and governments must unit together and work to fix these obstacles, to encourage and inspire young people to stay and live in their regions.