Task 2: Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is incontrovertible that being mentally and physically strong is an indispensable part to achieve success in sports. While there is a widespread belief that no sportsperson can reach the top without a good mentality, I firmly believe that outstanding physical strength is far more crucial.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that mental quality can be considered of paramount importance to overcome many obstacles in sports. Firstly, if the athletes cannot foster a competitive spirit or even a win-at-all-costs attitude, it is impossible for them to possess an adequate commitment to pursue their lifelong careers. Hours allocated in the gyms or training centers, for example, may be sometimes repetitive and frustrating, and accordingly, an unflinching will to practice is of paramount importance for the athletes to stay focused. Secondly, during the training and competition period, falling prey to undesirable injuries or failures is inevitable. In these circumstances, a superior mentality is vitally essential to overcome the feeling of pain and disappointment. Furthermore, these days, due to the massive development of social networking sites, sports coverages tend to promote their reputation or maximize their profits using several exaggerated news, which may encourage sports fans to condemn a certain sportsperson. Thus, if the athletes fail to hold a laid-back attitude towards these criticisms, it will be impossible for them to control their emotions and move up to a career ladder.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned benefits obtained from a strong mentality, I would also argue that athletes cannot gain more success or set records without superior physical strength. Although many people take up sports merely to get into shape or to keep fit, those who wish to gain a personal best or to reach the top must possess competitive physical strength. Obvious examples of physically demanding sports are weightlifting and judo, which require great stamina and endurance to gain more advantages when competing with other opponents. Furthermore, several sports stars, including Lance Armstrong, have also used illegal substances and performance-enhancing drugs in order to remain at the peak of his condition over the time training and competitions.

In conclusion, while mental strength is undoubtedly crucial, I firmly agree with the view that a successful career in sports must go hand-in-hand with good physical strength.