Teachers are not as important as they used to be because of the choice of other alternatives for students, such as online teaching.

To what extent to do you agree or disagree?

In my point of view, teachers are still tremendously relevant for students in these days. All changes that are happening in learning process lately are making them even more important for this. Then, I would say that I disagree with that statement a hundred percent. Actually, teachers are more needed than ever.

Indeed, students today are multifocal, with many alternatives and many activities for their brains at the same time. They are profoundly accustomed with multimedia information, with charts, videos, songs and interactions. So, their lives were shaped by technology and they really enjoy to learn with it. However, all these technological skills bring among them a dark side as well, problems with concentration, discipline and motivation are common nowadays and professors can guide them through all these messy information and organize them properly.

In other hand, in the past, people were more concentrated and more disciplined, and teachers were helpful either. Even to teach people interested and dedicated, they need to set up a method to share knowledge as best possible. But I have to admit that in the past, interaction were more personal. By this I mean that technology is transforming interactions between people, making easier contact between people far from each other. So, in fact, because of this change, teachers and students were closer than today, because they used to be in the same physical place.

There is a tendency to think that online teaching is making teachers old. Otherwise, I would argue that this is making possible knowledge reach unthinkable places for past realities. This fact is strengthening the profession and make them even more helpful worldwide. For instance, we’ve seen entire communities in third world, especially in Middle Africa, skipping starvation and poverty because of incredible kind of information that are achieving that people through the Internet.

Therefore, in my opinion, professors will always be extremely needed around the world and all these technology will only contribute for their job. All changes in learning process are unstoppable and we all will need the teachers to guide us to a better and more included world.