These days many children spend a lot of their time playing computer games but little time doing sports. Why is this? Do you think

it is a positive or negative development?

The massive development in science and technology has affected the lives of all the age-groups. The young generation of this modern age

is highly involved in computer-oriented leisure time activities instead of outdoor games. The advancement in technology and the increase in

urbanization are major reasons for this emerging trend. In my opinion, this is a negative development, as it can affect the mental and physical growth of children.

Firstly, the lack of playgrounds obliges the children to get involved in indoor games. In other words, with the rapid increase in the urbanization, most of the areas are transformed into buildings, leaving no space for children to play. For instance, in a recent survey by local

NGO, the majority of the newly constructed societies in Gurugram do not have sufficient playing areas, consequently, leading to a little percentage of children involved in outdoor sports. Secondly, the security of children is another crucial factor considered by parents for not allowing the children to play outside. In addition, to secure the offsprings from external threats, people provide them with all the facilities and gadgets inside the home.

However, this trend can have detrimental effects on a child's physical and psychological development. Primarily, gazing the computer screens for prolonged hours

can cause an adverse effect on the eyes and can also lead to poor grades. Furthermore, the excessive sitting and lack of physical activity can result in serious medical illness such as obesity. To exemplify, the government of the USA, recently shown their concern for the coming generation as every second child in their

nation is obese, due to the inactivity caused by extreme usage of electronic games. Next, little participation in physical sports make the child

lethargic and dump, additionally, the more involvement in indoor games decreases the concentration and learning capabilities of youngsters.

In conclusion, although computer games are sources of entertainment for most of the children, however, nothing productive is gained from these activities.

Therefore, I strongly opine that over-engagement of upcoming generation in technical gadgets can prove very harmful for their overall growth and development.