These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

The trend of people moving to foreign countries for an extended period of time have increased rapidly these days for various reasons such as in pursuit of career development and higher studies. Although moving abroad has its own merits for people, it can also lead to challenges in getting adapted to the new environment and culture.

One of the significant advantages in going to a foreign country is expanding of one’s interpersonal skills and knowledge. Other countries have more advanced curriculum with high class facilities which is absent in their home country. For instance many people prefer to go to Oxford University for their Masters because of the excellence and the technology advancements in the country. Another advantage of working abroad is the higher salary scale. Employment options are plenty in other countries encouraging migrants to choose a career path based on their interests and skills, whereas in their own country, job opportunities are very limited with a very lower salary.

However there are disadvantages also in living abroad. The principal issue people face is the cultural shock including language barrier. While in a new country, it is absolutely difficult for the initial days to get adjusted to the new culture which would lower our energy. Also, the lack of language would also create problems in communicating with others and getting things done. Another major drawback in living abroad is loneliness. People who stay away in a new place which is million miles away from their own country often suffer from homesickness due to the fact that the people in the country would behave like strangers resulting in a tougher situation for the individual’s rest of the days therefore creating anxiety and stress.

In conclusion, although going abroad is a life changing experience for many it also has its darker side such as cultural shock and health issues such as depression. Therefore it is very important to make decision before moving to a foreign country.