Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

It is widely been argued that a capital punishment has to be fixed for the offenders who are committing different crimes such as drug trafficking, kidnapping and murders. However there are some people who insist the fact of situations which led to the crime has to be considered. This essay will discuss both sides of the opinion.

Firstly criminal activities have reduced in the last few years which is mainly due to the punishments like death sentence and lifeterm prison. These punishments will deter the convicts from committing the crime again. For example, Saudi Arabia has got the low level crime index in comparison to other countries. In the country there are strict regulations for offence which also promotes the safety and security of the innocence. But at times this leads to the punishment of innocents which ultimately puts the wrongdoer in a safe place. Therefore fixed punishment has become a contradictory topic in terms of society’s wellness.

However, there must be considerations of circumstances which led to the particular crime. It maybe due to family condition or even poverty. Taking these factors into consideration, the punishment to the convicts have to be reduced. Though Saudi Arabi ranks high in the crime index, their aggressive punishments often lead to the innocents being convicted. Hence a fair trial has to be conducted before punishing any criminals.

In conclusion, fixed punishment is extremely worthy to protect the society and the individuals. Neverthless, the situations of the crime has to be considered equally to prevent innocent people from being convicted. To conclude, inflicting fixed punishments may increase the safety and security of the society.