Though modern life is much facilitated by automobiles, it would have been better if they were not invented. Do you agree with this statement?

Modernity is wedded to convenience, luxury and comfort, so an exponential rise in number of cars on the roads can be seen today. Nevertheless, some people wonder would it have been more beneficial if the cars and other four-wheelers were not invented. I disagree with this thought as it is one of the greatest inventions of mankind which serves the same in various ways.

To embark on, although it is irrefutably one of the prime contributors of air and sound pollution, it also intend to save human lives in many life-threatening situations. To illustrate, an ambulance, a fire truck, and a patrol car are imperative in any emergency circumstances, which conspicuously shortens the time-lapse commuting to the near-by hospital, a building on fire, or a crime scene respectively. Without this creation, many lives which could have been otherwise saved easily would be lost unfairly.

Moreover, automobiles has been inextricably intertwined with the lives of a majority of people. We use them for far-flung purposes from travelling to work comfortably to purchasing groceries to picking up a child from school to going for a picnic at our convenience. In addition to this, cars protect us from the unfavorable weather making it possible to go outside in these conditions. For example, a cooling and heating system instilled in almost every vehicle assist an individual to beat the sun and winters respectively.

Although I agree that life without four-wheelers is unimaginable, I also recommend minimum usage of the same to protect the environment and an individual. Owing to the traffic congestions, which is a major problem in many developed countries, the quality of life and surroundings are depleting. The obnoxious gas emitted from the cars enhance the greenhouse effect and leads to many cardio-pulmonary ailments. A recent study conducted in Delhi reported that smog, caused by overcrowding of cars in roads, has caused numerous new cases of asthma in the local natives.

To reiterate, despite the many skepticisms of this inventory, I believe that it has upgraded the quantum of human life. However, I also think that it over usage of it could cause serious health and environmental problems.