The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy.

The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owning to the atomic energy in current era is a great blessing. However, it is generally argued that being equipped with atomic power has more pros as compared to cons. I tend to agree partially with this very notion.

In the first place, the fear of atomic war and its ultimate after-effects are limiting the chances of a nuclear powers colliding against each other. For instance, on the latest conflict of Kashmir, India and Pakistan have restrained themselves from engaging in war just because both of them are nuclear powers and the impact could be global. Therefore, being an atomic power helps to decrease the power imbalance consequently maintaining world wide peace.

In addition to the previous point, atomic energy is also one of the cheapest energy resources benefiting many countries round the globe by directly complementing economic growth. Since energy requirements have been raised in all walks of life, nuclear technology not only fulfills the increased energy demands but it also helps the environment being one of the environment friendly and cost effective energy resource. Thus, there is no denying the fact that nuclear power can easily fulfill the energy need with least investment.

Nevertheless, the access and use of atomic power could not be allowed to everyone because a single mistake can lead to the large scale destruction. If this technology is permitted unchecked the world has to face the horrible results because there are many countries whom atomic technology is not safe for the rest of the world. Hence a strict eye should be kept on the use of nuclear technology.

To recapitulate, although the atomic power provides many perks but on the other hand it can jeopardize global peace if the technology is adopted by irresponsible nations without being observed by strict nuclear regulations.