The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Travelling, undoubtedly, is an essential part of life and no one can avoid it by staying on a place. However, it is always argued that the number of vehicles is rapidly increasing as compared to the past and other means of transportation are needed with global laws to reduce the private vehicles and the usage. I tend to agree partly with this very notion.

In the first place, public transport should be encouraged as it is need of the hour. It provides flexible and convenient timings to job and school going persons because they manage their times according to the customers. In this way, majority of the public may be covered.Also there would be least rush on roads as compared to the situation when everyone owing their cars. Thus, this is pertinent to mention that the local transport is very necessary and provides good substitute to the private cars.

In addition to the previous point, the massive purchase of cars is causing serious environmental problems because when everyone is using their own cars, it will generate critical pollution substance. Since global warming is becoming major issue round the globe and these cars are polluting the whole environment as well as damaging ozone layer. The whole issue arise due to the practice of having own car and using for the whole society. For instance, In British only the increase in number of cars and their use was 290 lac in 2000 from the very first day of its use. Thus, there is no denying the fact that the extensive use of private cars is producing alarming situation to the environment and should be controlled by introducing common laws to minimize the number of vehicles.

Nevertheless, there is emergency use of the transport and people cannot wait for the public transport in their instant meeting calls as well as emergency health problems and they need the remote access to the desired location. In this way, they can easily tackle the whole situation. Therefore, the laws to maintain own cars should be relaxing in order to handle any situation.

To recapitulate, it is a good idea to control the number of own cars by making common rules as they are creating problems for the whole society but the rules should be decided by keeping in mind the whole population and their needs in mind and making other means of travelling more user friendly and comfortable.