The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy.

The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owning to the atomic energy in current era is a great blessing. However, it is generally argued that being equipped with atomic power has more pros as compared to cons. I tend to agree partially with this very notion.

Those who are of the view that being a nuclear state brings power balance, often support their argument by quoting that the fear of atomic war and its ultimate after-effects are limiting the chances of nuclear powers colliding against each other. For instance, on the latest conflict of Kashmir, India and Pakistan have restrained themselves from engaging in war just because both of them are nuclear powers and the impact could be devastating and global. Therefore, being an atomic power helps to decrease the power imbalance consequently maintaining the world-wide peace.

In addition to the previous point, atomic energy is also one of the cheapest energy resources benefiting many countries round the globe by directly complementing economic growth. Since energy requirements have been raised in all walks of life, nuclear technology not only fulfills the increased energy demands but it also helps the environment being one of the environment friendly and cost effective energy resource. Thus, there is no denying the fact that nuclear power can easily fulfill the energy need with least investment.

On the contrary, it also argued that the easy access and unrestricted use of atomic power could not be allowed to volatile nations because an irresponsible decision may lead to a global destruction. If this technology is permitted unsupervised the world might have to face horrible consequences because there are some countries which can be a potential hazard to global peace if handed atomic technology. Hence, use of atomic energy must be observed under strict laws.

To recapitulate, although the atomic power provides many perks but on the other hand it can jeopardize global peace if the technology is adopted by irresponsible nations without being observed by strict nuclear regulations.