Tobacco is a kind of drug. People have been free to use it. Some people think that it should be illegal to use it compared with other drugs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? What is your opinion?

Smoking cigarette is deemed injurious to health. Some people assert tobacco should be made illegal for consumption. Although it is a negative trend, I, however, believe drug legalization should be encouraged as it will bring more benefits to the nation.

Firstly, the federal government can not collect taxes on the industries if tobacco is made unlawful. While I concede that making drugs illegal will balance the situation in short term but the problem is in the long term escalation of black marketing will take place. As a result, the government will miss the opportunity to collect tax from the drugs producing firms hence overall revenue will decline. Canada is the best example, which had made consumption of Marijuana legal and people can purchase it from the general stores which have injected approximately over $50 billion to Canada coffers.

The increasing offense is another area of concern. Many supporters of prohibiting tobacco claim that it will help to mitigate addiction problems and tobacco are detrimental to health than any other drugs. I would argue that banning cigars or other tobacco has never made drugs disappear. In fact, offenders are finding illegal methods to consume drugs. This proliferation in law breaching is widely noticed where the government is not supporting legal drug system. Consequently, more violence comes to the police. Thus, the cost of regulation will be higher than confining it.

To conclude, not only restricting tobacco causes more disorganized crime, but also revenue from the drug sector will decline. Although I acknowledge that tobaccos are harmful to well-being, I disagree that prohibiting tobacco will control the condition of drug ill-usage.