Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic?

Over the past few years, there has been a significant increase in a few people travelling to the inhabitable or hostile places such as, Sahara Desert or Antarctic. Most of the people are driven by passion to achieve something or they want to experience the adrenaline rush that such expedition brings on.

Travelling to difficult places has their own advantages and disadvantages. One of the biggest benefits to undertake a strenuous journey is that it makes you stronger and build your confidence. While the journey can be physically and mentally exhausting, the exhilaration that one experience on the completion of the journey is something which cannot be explained in words. Other major benefit of travelling such remote areas is boasting up their country's economy and creating job opportunities in tourism field where people cannot find any other mean to earn a livelihood.

On the flip side, difficult journeys can be extremely dangerous, and things can go against the plans. I read in an article that 55 people died this year climbing Everest, more than twice the number who died last year. There are many incidents reported of people dying or going missing while experiencing the wild.

There are also many travelers who sustain serious injuries that leaves them immobile for rest of their life. Another major drawback of travelling in wild is that getting help on time is very unlikely or almost impossible if needed.

To conclude, difficult journeys are extremely thrilling and very dangerous at the same time. It requires extensive training and one should consider carefully before kicking off such journeys.