Today, TV channels provide man’s sports show more than women’s sports show. Why? Should TV channel give equal time to women’s sport and men’s sport?

It is true that sports with male participants are shown on TV more regularly than those with women attendants. Although the trend is negative and roots from how we educate boys and girls from early stages, I do not think it needs to be changed.

On the one hand, I believe that sports programs for men are more focused on TV channels because their numbers of audience are outweigh that of women’s. This gap comes from the gender discrimination as we encourage boys doing much exercise while girls are encouraged to play with dolls and cooking toys at home. As a result, boys have become more interested in watching sports so that they can playing sport games better while their female counterparts may strongly favor in fashion or cooking shows with a belief that girls should be good at household chores and beautifying. Both girls and boys also believe that sports are seemingly more for men, leading to a mounting number of followers for men sports but a downward trend for women sports. As women’s sports are unattractive to wide audience, it is understandable that their on-air time on TV channels will be cut down.

However, I think it does not necessarily to balance time for two kinds of sports. We all know that TV channels live on money gained from advertising of brand name products, which explains why ads pervasively appear on viral programs with an effort of attracting as much people as they can for the product promotion. Therefore, if broadcasting time has to be shared equally between men and women’s sports, TV channels will lose their profits because there will be less people watching commercials. It is also unfair to give more time for women sports since this sport category has never attracted a wide range of followers.

In conclusion, the number of people watching men sports are always higher than that of its counterpart due to gender stereotypes. Though, it is unnecessary to give more showing time for women sports as it can cause revenue loss for publication units while the audience do not desire to change the current situation.