Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills, such as cooperative skills. What are the causes and suggest some possible solutions.

Recently, many businesses have found that their new employees are struggling to work in a team. This shows a sign of the interpersonal skills deficit in young people. The essay would give several reasons and feasible solutions for this tendency.

Lack of teamwork skills may be attributed to two reasons. First, the virtual world of the Internet has enabled people to work and entertain at home, which results in a sedentary lifestyle and a decline in socialization. Consequently, people feel harder to hold a casual conversation when it comes to in-person interaction and to manage their emotions in conflicts. Second, people now tend to choose to live alone or in a nuclear family instead of in an extended family. This trend may partially diminish human contact and undermine the social bond inside the family, the very first form of community.

There are various ways to improve the interpersonal skills of young people and make them more collaborative. In school, teachers may replace monotonous classrooms by an active learning environment, where teachers are questioners only, and students are the ones who give their own answers and debate their opinions with peers. This helps students interact with fellows constantly, build their confidence and practice their verbal skills. In firms or companies, managers may introduce new employees to all departments of the company on the first day at work so that new ones soon get to know their colleagues. Some team-building programs should be established regularly to break barriers and strengthen the fellowship between staff.

In conclusion, the sedentary lifestyle and living independently are two reasons for the limited interpersonal skills of young people. School and businesses may take some actions to encourage them to join common activities so that youngsters become more sociable.