The world of work is changing rapidly and people cannot depend on the same job or the same conditions of work for life. Discuss the possible causes for these changes and give your suggestions on how people should prepare for work in the future.

Nowadays, people have become harder to stick with a job due to rapid changes in the world. This essay will give reasons for the issue and suggest solutions to make it better.

Job security has become more fragile because of the advance of technology and broadly unpredictable events, like Covid-19 pandemic. First, technology is gradually making some job positions obsolete. For example, Amazon uses automatic robots to perform simple tasks like picking up objects and moving them to a box, which considerably decreases numerous employees whose task is picking or moving items only. Also, natural disasters such as Coronavirus outbreaks are another factor for job instability. It is the fact that after the hit of Covid 19, all dine-in restaurants have to shut down, which causes millions of service staff to be job loss. As a result, many of them have to find transitional jobs to survive through this period.

In the face of the job insecurity, workers need to do two things to prepare for their future. First, they should learn how to work with cutting-edge software which allows them to have efficiencies at work. For example, an accountant should be proficient not only in words and excels, but also in financially online tools so that he or she can write reports in tight deadlines. Second, workers should learn a different skill to supplement their original job and adapt to the higher expectations of the business. Accountants can train themselves in data analysis to have ability to read reports. By doing so, they can excel their work skills and minimize the chance of sudden layoffs.

In conclusion, artificial intelligence and unforeseen disasters may jeopardize one’s job stability. Investing in computer- literate and study skills courses could be good ways to tackle this problem.