Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Many people argue that it is necessary for students to learn about food scientifically and how to cook food. Although I agree with this idea, I believe that time for food science should be made up very little since students still have to spend time at school on other subjects.

On the one hand, lessons in food theory and food safety will benefit students in different aspects. In terms of food theory, students will have a chance to get to know how food is made under chemical and physical interactions. For example, by learning the fundamentals of making bread, students realize that the sough dough is fermented with yeast before being baked in the oven at a proper temperature. Additionally, with food safety, students are fully equipped with how to cook food properly and how to preserve cooked food. Thanks to the food lectures, young people know which temperature of a well-cooked chicken is and how many hours for a frozen chicken to be thawed. Knowing this kind of knowledge enable students to raise their awareness of food and protect their health better.

Having said this, lectures on food science and food preparation should not make up the vast majority of the school curriculum to avoid the time deficiency for other subjects. Students necessarily study about food to serve their lives and others, but they also need to learn math, literature and arts for their future career. Lessons of food could be taught further at school if students wish to pursue a professional culinary career; otherwise, most of the school time should be spent on solving math questions and writing essays so that students can graduate in time.

In conclusion, it is ideal if schools give one or two lessons in their syllabus to teach students about food and focus on other subjects for the rest of the time.