The tourism industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years and there are few places which are unaffected by it However tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit

Although tourism as an industry has flourished especially in the past five decades, a few places are still unaffected by it. Some people think that there is no benefit to these countries. In my opinion, I agree that tourism has many benefits for both the tourist and the visited countries.

One of the main reasons that tourism is beneficial is it provides more employment opportunities for the locals that otherwise be unemployed. The increasing number of tourist has led to increasing the number of facilities needed. For example, more restaurants and hotels are established to meet those demands and consequently create more jobs for the locals.

Another benefit of tourism is all touristic places should have the latest infrastructure to be more convenient and comfortable for the people who visit. Most of these places are located outside big cities with difficulty in access, especially in harsh terrain. Therefore, local governments allot some of their budgets to build more roads and enhance other essential services such as electric power lines and transportation system.

Finally, there will be a cultural advantage for both the visitors and the locals. Most of the tourist come from foreign countries and they speak a different language from the one that is expressed by the locals. As a result, tourist and the locals will learn many traditions and habits about each other. This cultural exchange is essential for the development of communities.

In conclusion, tourism is beneficial economically and culturally for both tourists and local people.