Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

it is a common belief that the history and upcoming time are associated with cultural traditions and an advancement in science respectively. while there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I firmly agree that we ought to exempt the culture and traditions from our lives in order to accelerate the progress in science.

it is an indisputable fact that some cultural traditions have a detrimental effect on changes that constantly required in modern era. this is because, may people develop a conservative mindset, and trust in a superstitious action. Unfortunately, this type of mindset hinders the scientific development. One of the salient examples to illustrate this is in some parts of the world, organ donation is prohibited due to the old age customs. this results in the patients to suffer from particular ailments as it is not feasible to have organ donor. Thus, this circumstance explains the reason that people should not put aside modern achievement rather than gaining the benefits from it.

In contrast, cultures and traditions build the identity of individuals. The reason is that the ancestors have been practicing and following the traditional values while raising their offsprings. As a result, human characteristics are shaped by the customs that are passed down to the next generations. For instance, in tradition, elderly people are highly respected by young generation. Consequently, the children become the person who is aware of the customs to honor the old generation. Hence, it assists to build our personalities.

In conclusion, I strongly contend that humankind is in position to develop rapidly rather than to stick to conservative traditions. Therefore, the traditions could be neglected due to crucial science field in the foreseeable future.