Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

In this rapid growing environment, it is a common belief that the past and upcoming time are associated with cultural traditions and an evolution science. Although there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I firmly agree that there is necessity to exempt the culture and traditions from our lives to accelerate the progress in science.

The main point which I believe to be indeed pivotal is the fact that various cultural traditions have a detrimental effect on new changes that constantly required in technological era. The majority of people get a conservative mindset, and trust in superstitious actions, even though, this type of attitude hinders the scientific improvement. One of the salient examples to illustrate this is in some parts of the world, organ donation is prohibited due to the old age customs. As an outcome, many patients to suffer from particular ailments as it is not feasible to find an organ donor. Thus, this circumstance explains the reason that we should not put aside modern advancement rather than gaining the benefits from it.

In contrast, cultures and traditions help to create the identity of people. The means that the ancestors practice the traditional values while raising their offspring. As a result, human characteristics are shaped by the customs that are passed down to the next generations. For instance, in traditional norms, elderly people are highly respected by youths, and the children become an excellent community member who is aware of the customs to honor the previous generation. Hence, human personalities are impacted by the traditional customs.

In conclusion, I strongly contend that humankind is in place to develop rapidly instead of sticking to conventional traditions. Therefore, the traditions could be neglected owing to the crucial needs in science fields in the foreseeable future.