It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A growing number of people claims that persuading children to get into a reading is not an easy task to deal with. Certainly, it is my firm conviction that this phenomenon is caused by an excessive screen time which is allowed for young ones. Main viable solution to this issue would be the parents to become a role models for their offspring.

Absolutely, it is an indisputable fact that that a majority of youths do not fond of books, as they grow up with surrounding which which is filled with countless types of modern personal gadgets. As a result, they spend most of their leisure time occupied with smartphones, video game consoles, and tablets. These electronic devices are too stimulating for young generation to concentrate on reading skill. For instance, a survey conducted by Tech monthly magazine reported that 80 percent of school children aged from 8 to 16 favours the smartphone smartphone rather than possessing an e-book reader. Hence, I strongly believe that owning a personal gadgets indeed leads to the exemption of reading from their interest.

The primary solution to this problem would be an adults who should illustrate the joy and fulfillment of reading books, articles and newspapers. The reason is that younger generation tends to learn a new skill and a competency by imitation. Therefore, regular reading by parents, particularly, in front of the children enables them to acquire the fact that reading is a daily routine which must be present in human life. Practical salient example to explain this is that my grandfather's room was stored a collection of books, as well as newspapers. Even though I was prohibited to go through his books when I was a child, I grew up as a bookworm by watching him to read passionately. Thus, adults play a vital role for influencing the children to treasure the books.

In conclusion, the reading has turned into a not fun activity due to the youths youths are exposed to up-to-date electronic gadgets, and the parents ought to tackle this issue by reading in constant frequency in order to teach the delight of reading for their offspring.