University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is precious, and one should not disregard its importance. Hence, many people believe that tertiary education should be free without considering income. However, I differ from this statement to a large extent for some reasons. My position is argued further with an explanation.

Out of all the reasons, the foremost one is if higher education would be free, people might disvalue it because of the perspective that free and inexpensive things are usually cheap. Therefore paying something would maintain its significance. In addition to this, the standard of education would be maintained and ensure teaching quality. Additionally, after getting a degree, they lend into high paid jobs that eventually pay off the fee paid.

However, I would not overlook the other side too. To begin with, opponents argue that everyone should get an equal chance, either poor or rich. It is usually the low-income class who sacrifices their dreams due to the lack of money. Nevertheless, it is correct for many, if not all, I think the government could support these people so that the level of education is maintained. Moreover, they can enforce stringent laws to make sure that private universities do not overcharge the middle and lower class.

Thus, to conclude the discussion, It can be finally said that despite the fact that a significant proportion of the population is unable to acquire tertiary education because it is unaffordable for them. I believe paying for education is rational, especially at the university level.