Although more and more people read the news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this era of technological breakthroughs, we are encountered with new inventions every day and this has become an inevitable change in our life. One of these inventions is online news which is available anywhere anytime, because of this, the need for newspapers is declining and I think gradually it will diminish the newspaper.

The most compelling reason for my strong belief is its convenience. It doesn't matter wherever you are, either it’s day or night, the daily update is just one click away. One can check the news of their choice while skipping others. Moreover, he/she can set a notification, so that whenever there is the latest update regarding their topic of interest, he/she would get notified. Besides, it is an inexpensive way of keeping oneself abreast of the latest news. These all benefits of online news would decrease the need for newspapers.

However, there are some, if not all, who prefer to read newspapers, especially, the old generation. The reason being that they had become habitual of doing so such as reading the newspaper early in the morning with tea or coffee. Also, they find it interesting to do activities printed in it such as crossword and then waiting for a week to get a solution; and reading horoscopes whether they have believed in it or not but it is fun for them.

To encapsulate, the percentage of people preferring to read newspapers would decline slowly with the decrease in the babyboomers as the young generation is more tech-savvy, who want everything instantly and the internet made them habitual of it. Thus, unfortunately, this would diminish the newspapers and eventually becomes history.